Azamgarh Division

Azamgarh Division

Azamgarh Division is an administrative division of the Indian state of Uttar Pradesh. It is located in the eastern part of the state and comprises three districts: Azamgarh, Mau, and Ballia. The division is named after the city of Azamgarh, which is the administrative headquarters of the division.

The economy of Azamgarh Division is primarily based on agriculture, with crops such as paddy, wheat, sugarcane, and vegetables being the main products. The region also has a significant cottage industry, with handloom weaving and embroidery being the main activities. The division is known for its famous Banarasi sarees, which are woven in Mau and are popular all over the country.

The division is also known for its cultural and historical heritage. The city of Azamgarh has several historical monuments, including the Shahi Mosque, the Katra Mosque, and the Choti Masjid. The division is also home to several religious sites, including the Devi Patan Temple, the Kameshwar Nath Temple, and the Pura Mahadev Temple.

In recent years, the Azamgarh Division has seen significant development in infrastructure, including the construction of new roads and bridges, as well as the expansion of the railway network. This has helped to improve connectivity within the division and has contributed to its overall growth and development.

Azamgarh Division Districts

  1. Azamgarh
  2. Mau
  3. Ballia