Bhopal Division Madhya Pradesh (MP), Bhopal Division District List

Bhopal Division District List: Are you searching for information about the districts in Bhopal Division of Madhya Pradesh? Look no further! In this article, we provide a comprehensive list of the 5 districts that make up Bhopal Division, with their unique characteristics and cultural heritage. Stay informed with the latest information in 2023 and find all you need to know about Bhopal Division’s District List.

Bhopal Division

Bhopal Division, located in the central part of Madhya Pradesh, is one of the 10 divisions in the state. It is the capital city of Madhya Pradesh and is known for its rich cultural heritage and historical monuments.

The Bhopal Division is a geographical unit in the state of Madhya Pradesh with administrative responsibilities. It includes 5 districts – Bhopal, Raisen, Rajgarh, Sehore, and Vidisha. The headquarters of the division is located in Bhopal.

A supervisory body, the Divisional Commissioner’s office, has been established to oversee the functioning of government offices within the division. The office of the Divisional Commissioner is located in Bhopal district and was established in 2005.

Before 1956, the districts of Bhopal, Sehore, and Raisen were part of the Bhopal State while Vidisha district was part of the Central India State. These districts were merged in 1956 to form part of the Madhya Pradesh state.

The Bhopal Division’s Divisional Commissioner office holds the direct responsibility of overseeing the revenue and development administration in the division. As such, this office serves two roles – first, as the supervisory head for all orders from the Madhya Pradesh Government and second, as Commissioner for Area Development responsible for maintaining and regulating the irrigation system and the development of the command area.

Bhopal Division District List

The Bhopal Division is comprised of the following 5 districts:

  1. Bhopal – The capital city of Madhya Pradesh, Bhopal is known for its historical, cultural, and natural attractions such as the Upper Lake, Van Vihar National Park, and the Taj-ul-Masjid mosque.
  2. Raisen – This district is located in the central part of Madhya Pradesh and is known for its historical significance, with the presence of several monuments and temples.
  3. Rajgarh – Rajgarh is a historic district with a rich cultural heritage, known for its ancient temples, forts, and palaces.
  4. Sehore – Sehore is a rural district located in the central part of Madhya Pradesh, known for its natural beauty and scenic landscape.
  5. Vidisha – This district is known for its historical significance, with several monuments and temples dating back to the ancient period. Vidisha was once the capital of the Sunga dynasty.

Each of these districts has its own unique cultural and historical significance, and together they contribute to the rich diversity of the Bhopal Division in Madhya Pradesh.

District Wise Geography & Demographics of Bhopal Division, Madhya Pradesh (MP)

The area, population, population density and sex-ratio (as per 2011 census) of all the districts of Bhopal Division Madhya Pradesh (MP) are given here:-


Bhopal Division Tourist Places

The Bhopal division encompasses some of the most famous tourist destinations in the state, making it a popular destination for both domestic and international tourists.

One of the most notable attractions in Bhopal Division is the Taj-ul-Masajid, which is considered one of the largest mosques in India. The mosque is known for its stunning architecture and intricate carvings, and is a popular tourist destination for those interested in the history of Islamic art and architecture.

In addition to its rich cultural heritage, Bhopal Division is also known for its beautiful natural scenery. The city of Bhopal is situated on the banks of the Upper Lake, which is surrounded by picturesque gardens and parks. Visitors can also enjoy a scenic boat ride on the lake, which offers breathtaking views of the surrounding landscape.

Another popular tourist destination in Bhopal Division is the Sanchi Stupa, which is located about 46 km from Bhopal. The stupa, which dates back to the 3rd century BC, is considered one of the oldest Buddhist structures in India and is a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Visitors to the stupa can explore its intricate carvings and gain insight into the history of Buddhism in India.

Aside from its rich cultural heritage, Bhopal Division is also known for its thriving industrial and commercial sector. The city of Bhopal is home to a number of large industrial companies, including Bharat Heavy Electricals Limited and Hindustan Aeronautics Limited. These companies, along with the city’s thriving service sector, have made Bhopal a major economic hub in the state of Madhya Pradesh.

District List of Bhopal Division, MP

Bhopal division comprises of 5 districts :-

Sr. No.District Name


Bhopal Division is a must-visit destination for anyone looking to explore the rich cultural heritage and natural beauty of Madhya Pradesh. From its stunning historical monuments to its beautiful natural scenery, this division offers something for everyone and is sure to leave a lasting impression on all visitors.