Tata Group Chairman List (1868 to Present)

Tata Group Chairman List: The Tata Group, a name synonymous with trust and excellence in India, has a storied history of leadership that has propelled it to global prominence. Established in 1868 by Jamsetji Tata, the group has diversified into various sectors including steel, automobiles, IT, and more. This article delves into the distinguished list of Tata Group Chairmen, their tenures, and their significant contributions to the conglomerate’s growth.

Tata Group Chairmen List: Tenure and Contributions

ChairmanTenureMajor Contributions
Jamsetji Tata1868 – 1904– Founded Tata Group
– Established Tata Steel and Tata Power
Dorabji Tata1904 – 1932– Established Tata Steel
– Expanded the group’s industrial ventures
Nowroji Saklatwala1932 – 1938– Consolidated existing ventures
– Initiated new projects for expansion
J.R.D. Tata1938 – 1991– Transformed Tata Group into a global entity
– Founded Tata Consultancy Services and Tata Motors
– Established Air India
Ratan Tata1991 – 2012– Modernized and globalized the group
– Acquired Tetley, Jaguar Land Rover, and Corus
– Launched Tata Nano
Cyrus Mistry2012 – 2016– Streamlined portfolio
– Focused on profitability and sustainability
Ratan Tata (Interim)2016 – 2017– Stabilized the group post-Mistry
– Oversaw leadership transition
Natarajan Chandrasekaran2017 – Present– Driving digital transformation
– Focus on innovation and sustainability
– Expanding into digital economy, electric vehicles, and renewable energy

List of Tata Group Chairmen (1868 to Present)

1. Jamsetji Tata (1868 – 1904)

Jamsetji Tata, the founder of the Tata Group, laid the foundation for what would become one of India’s largest and most respected conglomerates. His vision for industrialization and his contributions to establishing industries like steel and hospitality were pioneering efforts in the Indian business landscape.

2. Dorabji Tata (1904 – 1932)

Following Jamsetji, his elder son Dorabji Tata took over the reins. Dorabji was instrumental in realizing his father’s dream of establishing the Tata Steel plant in Jamshedpur. Under his leadership, the Tata Group expanded its horizons and laid down strong foundations for future growth.

3. Nowroji Saklatwala (1932 – 1938)

Nowroji Saklatwala, a relative of the Tata family, succeeded Dorabji. His tenure, though brief, was marked by the consolidation of Tata’s existing ventures and the initiation of several new projects that would ensure the group’s continued expansion.

4. J.R.D. Tata (1938 – 1991)

Jehangir Ratanji Dadabhoy Tata, more commonly known as J.R.D. Tata, was the longest-serving chairman of the Tata Group. His tenure saw the group’s transformation into a global entity. J.R.D. Tata was a visionary who established Tata Consultancy Services, Tata Motors, and many other enterprises, firmly placing the group on the international map. His contributions to Indian aviation through Air India were also significant.

5. Ratan Tata (1991 – 2012)

Ratan Tata, J.R.D. Tata’s nephew, took over the leadership in 1991. His tenure is noted for the modernization and globalization of the Tata Group. Ratan Tata spearheaded landmark acquisitions like Tetley, Jaguar Land Rover, and Corus, which significantly enhanced the group’s global footprint. Under his leadership, Tata Motors launched the Tata Nano, aimed at being the world’s cheapest car.

6. Cyrus Mistry (2012 – 2016)

Cyrus Mistry was the first chairman from outside the Tata family, chosen for his business acumen and leadership skills. His tenure was marked by efforts to streamline the group’s diverse portfolio and focus on profitability. However, his term ended controversially with his ousting in 2016, leading to a significant public and legal battle.

7. Ratan Tata (Interim: 2016 – 2017)

After the removal of Cyrus Mistry, Ratan Tata returned as interim chairman to stabilize the group and oversee the selection of a new leader.

8. Natarajan Chandrasekaran (2017 – Present)

Natarajan Chandrasekaran, former CEO of Tata Consultancy Services (TCS), became the chairman in 2017. Under his leadership, the Tata Group has continued its focus on innovation, digital transformation, and sustainability. Chandrasekaran’s strategic vision is driving the group towards new growth avenues, including the digital economy, electric vehicles, and renewable energy.

Key Contributions of Tata Group Chairmen

  • Jamsetji Tata: Pioneer of industrialization in India, founder of Tata Steel and Tata Power.
  • Dorabji Tata: Established Tata Steel, instrumental in India’s industrial growth.
  • J.R.D. Tata: Founded Air India, expanded Tata Group globally.
  • Ratan Tata: Global acquisitions (Tetley, JLR, Corus), launched Tata Nano.
  • Natarajan Chandrasekaran: Digital transformation, focus on sustainability and innovation.


The chairmen of the Tata Group have played pivotal roles in shaping the company’s trajectory over the years. From Jamsetji Tata’s foundational vision to Natarajan Chandrasekaran’s contemporary strategies, each leader has left an indelible mark on the conglomerate’s legacy. As the Tata Group continues to evolve, it remains a beacon of industrial prowess and ethical business practices, driven by the leadership ideals set forth by its distinguished chairmen.

Tata Group chairmen list | Leadership in Tata Group | List of Tata Group Chairmen | Chairman List for Tata Group | All Chairman of Tata

By understanding the leadership lineage of the Tata Group, we gain insights into the strategies and vision that have driven one of India’s most prestigious business empires.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top