Gorakhpur Division (Uttar Pradesh)

Gorakhpur Division

Gorakhpur Division is an administrative division located in the Indian state of Uttar Pradesh. It was created in 1997, when the state government reorganized the administrative divisions of Uttar Pradesh.

Gorakhpur Division comprises of four districts – Gorakhpur, Deoria, Kushinagar, and Maharajganj. The divisional headquarters is located in the city of Gorakhpur.

Gorakhpur Division covers an area of approximately 9,752 square kilometers and has a population of over 10 million people. The primary languages spoken in this region are Hindi and Bhojpuri.

Gorakhpur Division is known for its religious and cultural significance. It is home to the famous Gorakhnath Temple which is an important pilgrimage site for Hindus. The region is also rich in history, with several ancient forts and monuments located in the area.

The economy of Gorakhpur Division is largely agricultural, with the cultivation of crops such as paddy, wheat, and sugarcane being the primary source of income for many people in the region. Additionally, small-scale industries such as textiles, brassware, and pottery are also prevalent in the area. Gorakhpur Division is also an important center for trade and commerce, with several markets and trading centers located throughout the region.

Gorakhpur Division

  1. Gorakhpur
  2. Deoria
  3. Kushinagar
  4. Maharajganj