Kanpur Division (Uttar Pradesh)

Kanpur Division

Kanpur Division is an administrative division located in the Indian state of Uttar Pradesh. It was created in 1975, when the state government reorganized the administrative divisions of Uttar Pradesh.

Kanpur Division comprises of six districts – Kanpur Nagar, Kanpur Dehat, Farrukhabad, Kannauj, Auraiya, and Etawah. The divisional headquarters is located in the city of Kanpur.

Kanpur Division covers an area of approximately 19,430 square kilometers and has a population of over 12 million people. The primary languages spoken in this region are Hindi and Urdu.

Kanpur Division is known for its industrial and commercial significance. It is home to several large-scale industries, including textiles, leather, and chemicals, that contribute significantly to India’s economy. The region is also an important center for trade and commerce, with several markets and trading centers located throughout the division.

Kanpur Division is also home to several educational institutions, including the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Kanpur, that attract students from all over the country. The division is also known for its historical and cultural significance, with several ancient temples and other historical sites located in the area.

The economy of Kanpur Division is largely driven by its industries, with manufacturing and trade being the primary sources of income for many people in the region. Additionally, agriculture is also prevalent in some areas, with the cultivation of crops such as wheat, rice, and sugarcane being common.

Kanpur Division Districts

  1. Kanpur Nagar
  2. Kanpur Dehat
  3. Farrukhabad
  4. Kannauj
  5. Auraiya
  6. Etawah