Lucknow Division

Lucknow Division

Lucknow Division is an administrative division located in the Indian state of Uttar Pradesh. It was created in 1948, after India gained independence from British rule.

Lucknow Division comprises of six districts – Hardoi, Lakhimpur Kheri, Lucknow, Raebareli, Sitapur, and Unnao. The divisional headquarters is located in the city of Lucknow.

Lucknow Division covers an area of approximately 63,592 square kilometers and has a population of over 45 million people. The primary languages spoken in this region are Hindi and Urdu.

Lucknow Division is known for its cultural, historical, and political significance. It is home to several important historical sites, including the famous Bara Imambara and Chota Imambara, that attract a large number of tourists from all over the world. The region is also an important center for politics, with several prominent political leaders hailing from this area.

The economy of Lucknow Division is diverse, with several industries contributing to its growth. The region is known for its handicrafts, including chikankari embroidery and zardozi work, which are famous all over the world. Additionally, agriculture is also prevalent in some areas, with the cultivation of crops such as wheat, rice, and sugarcane being common. The division is also an important center for education, with several prominent educational institutions, including the University of Lucknow, located in the area. The region is also an important center for trade and commerce, with several markets and trading centers located throughout the division.

Lucknow Division Districts

  1. Hardoi
  2. Lakhimpur Kheri
  3. Lucknow
  4. Raebareli
  5. Sitapur
  6. Unnao

Scroll to Top