Meerut Division (Uttar Pradesh)

Meerut Division

Meerut Division is an administrative division located in the Indian state of Uttar Pradesh. It was created in 1997, when the state government reorganized the administrative divisions of Uttar Pradesh.

Meerut Division comprises of six districts – Meerut, Baghpat, Ghaziabad, Bulandshahr, Gautam Buddh Nagar, and Hapur. The divisional headquarters is located in the city of Meerut.

Meerut Division covers an area of approximately 12,181 square kilometers and has a population of over 25 million people. The primary languages spoken in this region are Hindi and Urdu.

Meerut Division is known for its industrial and commercial significance. It is home to several large-scale industries, including textiles, sugar, and steel, that contribute significantly to India’s economy. The region is also an important center for trade and commerce, with several markets and trading centers located throughout the division.

Meerut Division is also home to several educational institutions, including the Chaudhary Charan Singh University, that attract students from all over the country. The division is also known for its historical and cultural significance, with several ancient temples and other historical sites located in the area.

The economy of Meerut Division is largely driven by its industries, with manufacturing and trade being the primary sources of income for many people in the region. Additionally, agriculture is also prevalent in some areas, with the cultivation of crops such as wheat, rice, and sugarcane being common. The division is also an important center for transportation, with several major highways and railways passing through the region.

Meerut Division Districts

  1. Baghpat
  2. Bulandshahar
  3. Gautam Buddha Nagar
  4. Ghaziabad
  5. Meerut
  6. Hapur