Varanasi Division (Uttar Pradesh)

Varanasi Division

Varanasi Division is an administrative division located in the Indian state of Uttar Pradesh. It was created in 1997, when the state government reorganized the administrative divisions of Uttar Pradesh.

Varanasi Division comprises of four districts – Varanasi, Chandauli, Ghazipur, and Jaunpur. The divisional headquarters is located in the city of Varanasi, which is considered one of the holiest cities in India and a major cultural and religious center.

Varanasi Division covers an area of approximately 15,213 square kilometers and has a population of over 12 million people. The primary languages spoken in this region are Hindi and Urdu.

Varanasi Division is known for its cultural and historical significance. It is home to several important historical and religious sites, including the Kashi Vishwanath Temple, Sarnath, and the Ramnagar Fort, that attract a large number of tourists from all over the world. The region is also known for its educational institutions, including the prestigious Banaras Hindu University, that attract students from all over the country.

The economy of Varanasi Division is largely driven by its industries, with manufacturing and trade being the primary sources of income for many people in the region. Additionally, agriculture is also prevalent in some areas, with the cultivation of crops such as wheat, rice, and sugarcane being common. The division is also an important center for transportation, with several major highways and railways passing through the region.

Varanasi Division is also known for its political significance, as it is the parliamentary constituency of the current Prime Minister of India, Narendra Modi.

Varanasi Division Districts

  1. Chandauli
  2. Ghazipur
  3. Jaunpur
  4. Varanasi

Scroll to Top